HS Soccer: Boys heading into the semifinals

Match Day Two started off with eight teams with a couple of lower seed teams in the mix after some first round upsets. Number 1 ranked LEE, 2. Schertz Clemens, 3. SA Marshall, 4. SA Churchill, 5. SA Warren, 9. SA Reagan, 10. New Braunfels Canyon and 11. SA Jay are all looking to nab the top spot and claim to be sim tournament champs. Here’s the recap of the quarterfinals.

9. SA Reagan (8-6-7) v 1. LEE (17-0-1)

This was a rematch of two regular season meeting between the two rivals that have play some great matches are the last couple of seasons. LEE swept Reagan this year with a 2-0 and 5-0 wins. Reagan came in as the underdog looking to dethrone the 2019 UIL 6A state finalist.

A highly anticipated match, LEE v Reagan did not disappoint. Reagan was hoping for it being “third time’s a charm”, but it was LEE to strike first in the second half in the 51st minute when Wil Aguilar scored as he beat two Reagan defenders to find the back of the net on the low left corner. Reagan tied up the match the 58th minute and the first goal of season versus LEE. Reagan’s Senior Defender Pablo Lomelin scored a scorcher from way outside the box hitting the right post and bouncing in. The game winner came in the 72nd minute when Emiliano Alcantara curved a shot past the diving Reagan keeper. LEE moves on to the semi-final.

Final: Reagan 1 – LEE 2

11. SA Jay (12-5-4) v 3. SA Marshall (15-2-6)

The first match the regular season was a 5-4 thriller with SA Marshall coming out on top. The second match was postponed so this was SA Jay’s chance to find beat the district winners and continue the dark horse story.

This one was a much closer match than the nine goal fest earlier in the year. SA Marshall scored first in the 21st minute when Ahmed Jzee scored with a tapper from three yards out with the assist from Angelo Rodriguez. SA Jay tied just a minute before the half with a goal from Jack Tablizo the Senior Forward, leaving all knotted up at 1-1 at the half.

Second half was evenly match as both teams went shot for shot as each team took 4 shots on goal. In the 76th minute SA Jay scored again, Ulisses Pinon scored on a free kick. SA Marshall appeared to score in the 77th minute but was flagged offsides. Time ran out and SA Jay knocked out another higher seeded team to continue their run.

Final: SA Jay 2 – SA Marshall 1

10. New Braunfels Canyon (13-4-4) v 2. Schertz Clemens (18-1-1)

These two teams met twice in the regular season during district play. With Clemens winning the first meeting 3-1 and drawing the second match 1-1. New Braunfels Canyon was looking for thirs time to go their way and make it to the semi-final.

It was all Schertz Clemens in this quaterfinal match as they scored three times with goals by Caleb McCausland in the 22nd minute, Jorge Ugaz in the 44th minute and David Lozano in the 55th minute.

Schertz Clemens Goalkeeper Luke Brue recorded four saves in the clean sheet and Canyon’s Jio Lopez made seven saves.

Final: New Braunfels Canyon 0 – Schertz Clemens 3

5. SA Warren (11-4-6) v 4. SA Churchill (14-4-3)

Final match of match day two of the quarterfinals between Warren and Churchill. They met back in January with Churchill winning 3-1.

SA Churchill opened up the scoring with a goal from Emmit Rangel on an assist from Skyler Frey in the 29th minute. It would the only goal of the match.

Final: SA Warren 0 – SA Churchill 1

Semifinal matches on May 16th

11. SA Jay v 1. LEE

4. SA Churchill v 2. Schertz Clemens


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s